Home  Holidays  Durga Puja

 When is Durga Puja

When is Durga Puja 2014, 2015

Durga Puja is one of the famous Hindu festival when Goddess Durga is worshipped. Durga Puja is also known as Durgotsava in West Bengal. Over the years, the ritualistic aspect gave way to crowd pulling capacity for the Sarbojonin Durga Pujas.

The dates of Durga Puja celebrations are set according to the traditional Hindu calendar and the fortnight corresponding to the festival is called Devi Paksha. Mahalaya marks the beginning of the Puja but the celebration start during Shashti to Dashami. Dashami marks end of the Puja.

Dates of Durga Puja celebration in 2014

  • Mahalaya - Tuesday, 23rd September
  • Maha Panchami - Monday, 29th September
  • Maha Shashti - Tuesday, 30th September
  • Maha Saptami - Wednesday, 1st October
  • Maha Ashtami - Thursday, 2nd October
  • Maha Navami - Friday, 3rd October
  • Vijaya Dashami - Friday, 3rd October

Dates of Durga Puja celebration in 2015

  • Maha Panchami - Saturday, 17th October
  • Maha Shashti - Sunday, 18th October
  • Maha Saptami - Monday, 19th October
  • Maha Ashtami - Tuesday, 20th October
  • Maha Navami - Wednesday, 21st October
  • Vijaya Dashami - Thursday, 22nd October